Mr. Yvon and Astronomy

jackrunning   This is you.  It’s March 17th and you’ve just written a ‘thank you’ note to our neighbour across the circle, Mr. Yvon.  Two years ago, on your birthday, you were riding on a brand new bike from nana and papa. Right in that circle. Your dad had put up pylons and a little ramp so you could practice.  Mr. Yvon drove by to park and he rolled down his window to talk to you. He asked you if that was a new bike. You said it was. He asked if it was your birthday. You said it was.  Three hours later there was a package at our front door. From Mr. Yvon and his wife (I can’t remember her name). Inside was a telescope. A good one.  We couldn’t see any stars that night, or the next couple of nights. It’s hard to stay up late to see stars.

I went down early and stood in line for 30 minutes to sign you up for that astronomy class a few weeks ago.  We thought it would be kind of you to write another ‘thank you’ note to Mr. Yvon. To tell him thank you for inspiring you to take the astronomy class.  Here you are running, your winter coat wide open, your toque on your head and your jacket is flapping in the wind.  I didn’t have to encourage you more than once to write the thank you note.  I don’t know how many 8 year olds are that thoughtful.

You, Jack. You are thoughtful.

Mr. Yvon never talks to us. Said maybe four sentences since we moved in almost 6 years ago.  We know his wife isn’t well. I always bring him cut flowers from my garden. Fresh tomatoes, fresh peas and beans. And just leave them on the front porch.  Dad tries to plow his driveway, but always stops him.  We never see people visit him and he leaves his house and drives away about fifteen times a day. The ambulance comes every couple of days to take his wife to the hospital.

I think you made his heart feel special.

Nice going, babes.

I love you,

mom.

ps: you gave me a note yesterday, right in the middle of me working. It said, ‘I love you so much, I could kiss you right now’ and then you gave me a kiss.

Leave a Reply

